Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Gandalf Awards

The Gandalf Awards were awarded alongside the Hugos for a few years. They were for fantasy fiction although, as you will see, the dividing line between fantasy and SF is once again somewhat blurred. Two different awards were given.

Book-Length Fantasy

1979 The White Dragon by Anne McCaffrey

1978 The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien (ed. by Christopher Tolkien)

Grand Master

1980 Ray Bradbury

1979 Ursula K. Le Guin

1978 Poul Anderson

1977 Andre Norton

1976 L. Sprague de Camp

1975 Fritz Leiber

1974 J. R. R. Tolkien


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.







Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee