Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Past Hugo Winners

For details of past Hugo winners by year see AwardWeb or Locus. This section lists winners by award category.

Please note that awards listed for 1946 are Retro-Hugos awarded at L.A.Con III in 1996.

In the early years of the Hugos there were not fixed guidelines as to what the awards should be called or precisely what they meant. For example, the terms "fanzine", "fan magazine" and "amateur magazine" almost certainly refer to the same thing, but because the awards are differently named they are listed separately.

Current categories

First here are the current categories:

Past categories

These categories have been used but no longer exist:

Special Awards

These Awards are Hugos but have been made by Worldcon committes not by ballot:


These categories have been voted on and awarded as if they were Hugos but are administered by organisations other than WSFS:


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.








Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee