Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Special Awards

These awards have been bestowed by various Worldcon committes, not voted on by ballot.

1993 Takumi Shibano

1991 Andrew I. Porter for many years of excellence in editing SF Chronicle

1991 Elst Weinstein for starting up and continuing the Hogus

1989 Alex Schomburg for lifetime achievement in science fiction art

1989 SF-Lovers Digest for pioneering the use of computer bulletin boards in fandom

1988 The SF Oral History Association

1984 Robert Bloch for fifty years as a science fiction professional

1984 Larry T. Shaw for lifetime achievement as a science fiction editor

1982 Mike Glyer for "keeping the fan in fanzine publishing"

1981 Edward L. Ferman for his effort to expand and improve the field

1977 George Lucas for Star Wars

1976 James E. Gunn for Alternate Worlds, The Illustrated History of Science Fiction

1975 Walt Lee for Reference Guide to Fantastic Films

1975 Donald A. Wollheim as "the fan who has done everything"

1974 Chesley Bonestell for his illustrations

1973 Pierre Versins for L'Encyclopedie de l'Utopie et de la science fiction

1972 Club du Livre d'Anticipation (France) for excellence in book production

1972 Harlan Ellison for excellence in anthologizing (Again, Dangerous Visions)

1972 Nueva Dimension (Spain) for excellence in magazine production

1969 Neil Armstrong, Edwin Aldrin, and Michael Collins for "The Best Moon Landing Ever"

1968 Gene Roddenberry for Star Trek

1968 Harlan Ellison for Dangerous Visions

1967 CBS Television for 21st Century

1963 Isaac Asimov for science articles in Fantasy & Science Fiction

1963 P. Schuyler Miller for book reviews in Analog

1962 Cele Goldsmith for editing Amazing and Fantastic

1962 Fritz Leiber and the Hoffman Electric Corp. for the use of science fiction in advertisements

1962 Donald H. Tuck for The Handbook of Science Fiction and Fantasy

1960 Hugo Gernsback as "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction"

1955 Sam Moskowitz as "Mystery Guest" and for his work on past conventions


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.







Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee