Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Other Art Awards

The following awards have been given for artists or artwork on various occasions.

Best Original Artwork

This award was a classic example of a nice idea that didn't work. While there was general agreement that having an award for artwork was a good idea, the award received very few nominations and those were spread over a very wide range of nominees.

1996 Dinotopia: The World Beneath by James Gurney

1995 Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Book by Brian Froud

1994 Space Fantasy Commemorative Stamp Booklet by Stephen Hickman

1993 Dinotopia by James Gurney

1992 cover of The Summer Queen by Michael Whelan

1990 cover of Rimrunners by Don Maitz

Best Artist

1965 John Schoenherr

1955 Frank Kelly Freas

1956 Frank Kelly Freas

Best Cover Artist

1953 Hannes Bok & Ed Emshwiller (tie)

Best Interior Illustrator

1953 Virgil Finlay

Outstanding Artist

1958 Frank Kelly Freas


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.









Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee