Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Best Novelette

See also Other Fiction Awards for the 1960s when short fiction was often not differentiated.

2005 “The Faery Handbag” by Kelly Link (The Faery Reel Viking)

2004 "Legions in Time" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's, 4/03)

2003 "Slow Life" by Michael Swanwick (Analog, 12/02)

2002 "Hell Is the Absence of God" by Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, Tor);

2001 "Millennium Babies", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's 1/00)

2000 10ˆ16 to 1 by James Patrick Kelly

1999 Taklamakan by Bruce Sterling

1998 We Will Drink A Fish Together by Bill Johnson

1997 Bicycle Repairman by Bruce Sterling

1996 Think Like a Dinosaur by James Patrick Kelly

1995 The Martian Child by David Gerrold

1994 Georgia on My Mind by Charles Shiffield

1993 The Nutcracker Coup by Janet Kagan

1992 Gold by Isaac Asimov

1992 The Manamouki by Mike Resnick

1990 Enter a Soldier. Later: Enter Another by Robert Silverberg

1989 Schrödinger's Kitten by George Alec Effinger

1988 Buffalo Gals, Won't You Come Out Tonight by Ursula K. Le Guin

1987 Permafrost by Roger Zelazny

1986 Paladin of the Lost Hour by Harlan Ellison

1985 Bloodchild by Octavia Butler 1984 Blood Music by Greg Bear

1983 Fire Watch by Connie Willis

1982 Unicorn Variation by Roger Zelazny

1981 The Cloak and the Staff by Gordon R. Dickson

1980 Sandkings by George R. R. Martin

1979 Hunter's Moon by Poul Anderson

1978 Eyes of Amber by Joan D. Vinge

1977 The Bicentennial Man by Isaac Asimov

1976 The Borderland of Sol by Larry Niven

1975 Adrift Just Off the Islets of Langerhans by Harlan Ellison

1974 The Deathbird by Harlan Ellison

1973 Goat Song by Poul Anderson

1969 The Sharing of Flesh by Poul Anderson

1968 Gonna Roll Them Bones by Fritz Leiber

1967 The Last Castle by Jack Vance

1959 The Big Front Yard by Clifford D. Simak

1956 Exploration Team by Murray Leinster

1955 The Darfsteller by Walter M. Miller, Jr.

1946 First Contact by Murray Leinster


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.







Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee