Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Current Issue
On line
A4 paper
US paper
A4 paper
US paper
Print Version

Art by Frank Wu

Best Short Story

See also Other Fiction Awards for the 1960s when short fiction was often not differentiated.

2005 “Travels with My Cats” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 02/04)

2004 "A Study in Emerald" by Neil Gaiman (Shadows over Baker Street , Del Rey)

2003 "Falling onto Mars" by Geoffrey A. Landis (Analog, 7-8/02)

2002 "The Dog Said Bow-Wow" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 10-11/01)

2001 "Different Kinds of Darkness", Dave Langford (F&SF 1/00)

2000 Scherzo with Tyrannosaur by Michael Swanwick

1999 The Very Pulse of the Machine by Michael Swanwick

1998 The 43 Antarean Dynasties by Mike Resnick

1997 The Soul Selects Her Own Society ... by Connie Willis

1996 The Lincoln Train by Maureen F. McHugh

1995 None So Blind by Joe Haldeman

1994 Death on the Nile by Connie Willis

1993 Even the Queen by Connie Willis

1992 A Walk in the Sun by Geoffrey A. Landis

1991 Bears Discover Fire by Terry Bisson

1990 Boobs by Suzy McKee Charnas

1989 Kirinyaga by Mike Resnick

1988 Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers by Lawrence Watt-Evans

1987 Tangents by Greg Bear

1986 Fermi and Frost by Frederik Pohl

1985 The Crystal Spheres by David Brin

1984 Speech Sounds by Octavia Butler

1983 Melancholy Elephants by Spider Robinson

1982 The Pusher by John Varley

1981 Grotto of the Dancing Deer by Clifford D. Simak

1980 The Way of Cross and Dragon by George R. R. Martin

1979 Cassandra by C. J. Cherryh

1978 Jeffty Is Five by Harlan Ellison

1977 Tricentennial by Joe Haldeman

1976 Catch That Zeppelin! by Fritz Leiber

1975 The Hole Man by Larry Niven

1974 The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin

1973 Eurema's Dam by R. A Lafferty

1973 The Meeting by Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth

1972 Inconstant Moon by Larry Niven

1971 Slow Sculpture by Theodore Sturgeon

1970 Time Considered as a Helix of Semi-Precious Stones by Samuel R. Delany

1969 The Beast That Shouted Love at the Heart of the World by Harlan Ellison

1968 I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream by Harlan Ellison

1967 Neutron Star by Larry Niven

1965 Soldier, Ask Not by Gordon R. Dickson

1959 That Hell-Bound Train by Robert Bloch

1958 Or All the Seas With Oysters by Avram Davidson

1956 The Star by Arthur C. Clarke

1955 Allamagoosa by Eric Frank Russell

1946 Uncommon Sense by Hal Clement


Emerald City Hugo Awards Section

Home | FAQ | Categories | This Year | Recommendations | Past Winners | History | Photos | Voting System

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.








Site sponsors

Please support Emerald City by visiting our sponsors:

Your Ad Here

Web sites recommended by Emerald City Strange Horizons - an excellent webzine The online version of Locus magazine The Alien Online Diverse Books Tad Williams' Shadowmarch

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee