Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Hugo Awards

Home | FAQ | Categories | Recommendations | Photos | Voting System

The Hugo Awards are presented by the World Science Fiction Society, for excellence in the field of Science Fiction and Fantasy. The Hugos are voted on by fans, not by a panel of experts. So you can have a say in determining which works and individuals receive the coveted rocket. And, needless to say, the list of past winners is an excellent guide to the very best in SF and Fantasy. I have broken this part of the site up into four sections:

Current Year

What's going on this year?

Hugo Information

This section is all about the awards. What the categories are, how to vote and so on.

Hugo Issues

What are the outstanding areas of debate about the future of the Hugos?

Hugo History

Past winners, the history of the awards, and so on.

About Emerald City | Submissions

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee