Fairy and Snake - Steven Stahlberg Masthead - Tony Geer Astrobiology - Gerhard Hoeberth Emerald City Logo - Sue Mason
Archives Reviews Awards Web Log Subscribe Photos About Support Us

Hugo Awards

Home | FAQ | Categories | Recommendations | Photos | Voting System

Gandalf Awards

The Gandalf Awards were awarded alongside the Hugos for a few years. They were for fantasy fiction although, as you will see, the dividing line between fantasy and SF is once again somewhat blurred. Two different awards were given.

Book-Length Fantasy

1979 The White Dragon by Anne McCaffrey

1978 The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien (ed. by Christopher Tolkien)

Grand Master

1980 Ray Bradbury

1979 Ursula K. Le Guin

1978 Poul Anderson

1977 Andre Norton

1976 L. Sprague de Camp

1975 Fritz Leiber

1974 J. R. R. Tolkien

"Hugo Award" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

About Emerald City | Submissions

Emerald City - copyright Cheryl Morgan - cheryl@emcit.com
Masthead Art copyright Steven Stahlberg (left) and Gerhard Hoeberth (right)
Additional artwork by Frank Wu & Sue Mason
Designed by Tony Geer
Copyright of individual articles remains with their authors
Editorial assistants: Anne K.G. Murphy & Kevin Standlee